top of page
  • Writer's pictureElise Crall

Project #4: Artist Statement

Woohoo! We are finally done with the semester!


This project was super fun and allowed for so much creativity! I kind of strayed a little bit away from my initial idea that I shared in class. At first, I was wanting to make my webventure similar to that of the choose your own path Black Mirror movie, Bandersnatch. I like how in Bandersnatch you have an ultimate goal of getting 5 stars on the game the character is creating. I just found that with this approach, I’d have to create so many different paths in order to make it challenging and engaging. Although I changed the premise a bit, I did end up sticking with my initial idea of using Mario characters.



For my photoshop images, most of them were created by simply taking the backgrounds out of the image to make it look clean. There were a couple images that I created by putting some separate images together and editing them. I put more effort towards and used more creativity with the GIFs. Creating GIFs was actually one of my favorite parts of this project!




The process ended up taking a lot longer than I thought it would take. You don’t realize how much the work multiplies until you start creating more options which creates more options which creates even more options. I initially wanted to have more characters to choose from and wanted to go into a little more depth in each path, but I had to narrow down.




Even with what I created, I had to do a lot of work. With all of my options together, I ended up with 31 pages!! And even with 31 pages, some of my paths feel a little abrupt. I would probably have to spend a month on this project to make it feel totally complete. Even though I had to cut some paths short, I still really enjoyed the creativity within this project, we could really use our imaginations and come up with anything we wanted to.


This has been a great semester! Hope your Christmas break is rejuvenating!


<3 Elise


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page