top of page
  • Writer's pictureElise Crall

Reading Blog #3



I don’t think I’ve ever heard of the term “Net.art” which is surprising because I’ve taken many art classes. You’d think it would have some up at some point in at least one art class but I really don’t recall ever hearing about this term.




Here a net art page "https://thewrong.org/ " that was kind of interesting to poke around on





Although I’m having a hard time totally wrapping my mind around what exactly Net art is, the example of Heath Bunting and his Kings Cross Phone-in helps me understand it a little better. It seems as though net art is really any work of art created with or through the use of the internet. With Kings Cross Phone-In, Bunting just used the internet to post phone numbers and the real art happened and the physical location of the phones, not necessarily on the internet.



After doing some further research, I feel like I’m thinking about net art too strictly. From what I have found, it seems as though Net art is defined quite simply, it’s work that uses the internet as the primary medium. So really, these days with the ever-growing internet, there are many things that could be considered net art.


Many of the pieces that I checked out that were referred to in the article remind me of the “webventure” project we are working on right now. In these two websites below, you get brought to the website and can click around to find new things. These specific net.art works also seem to be very interactive, requiring the viewer to search around and sort of participate in the art in order to discover more about it.


Olia Lialina’s My Boyfriend Came Back From the War: https://sites.rhizome.org/anthology/lialina.html






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page